About COINs Conference

Collaborative innovation networks, or COINs, are cyberteams of self-motivated people with a collective vision, to innovatively collaborate by sharing ideas, information, and work enabled by technology. COINs are powered by swarm creativity, wherein people work together in a structure that enables a fluid creation and exchange of ideas. Patterns of collaborative innovation frequently follow an identical path, from creator to COIN to collaborative learning network (CLN) to collaborative interest network (CIN).

The 9th edition of the Collaborative Innovation Networks (COINs) conference will be held at Warsaw, Poland. COINs will bring together researchers and practitioners from across the world to share the results of their work. The goal of the conference is to provide a forum for researchers and practitioners from both academia and industry to meet and share cutting-edge advancements in the field of Social Network Analysis, Online Social Networks, Data Mining, AI & Deep Learning and the impact of those technologies on society and culture.

Past COINs Conferences

  • COINs18 - 8th International Conference on Collaborative Innovation Networks, September 26 - 28, 2018, Suzhou, China
  • Theme: Building a Shared Future through COINs
  • Proceedings: Springer Studies on Entrepreneurship, Structural Change and Industrial Dynamics (forthcoming Late 2019)
  • Conference Website
  • COINs16 – 6th International Conference on Collaborative Innovation Networks, June 8 - 10, 2016, Rome, Italy
  • Theme: Designing Networks for Innovation and Improvisation
  • Keynotes:
    • Agostino La Bella (Vice Rector, University of Rome Tor Vergata): Leadership, communication and charisma
    • Jana Diesner (Ass. Prof, University of Illinois Urbana Champaign): Words and Networks: Using Natural Language Processing to Enhance Graphs and Test Network Theories
    • Peter Gloor (Research Scientist, MIT): Building Collective Consciousness – Homo Collaborensis
  • Proceedings: Springer Proceedings in Complexity
  • Conference Website

Steering Committee Members

Andrea Fronzetti Colladon, University of Perugia, Italy
Cristobal Garcia, Imperial College and TU Delft
Peter Gloor, MIT, USA
Julia Gluesing, Wayne State University, USA
Francesca Grippa, Northeastern University, USA
Takashi Iba, Keio University, Japan
Casper Lassenius, Aalto University, Finland
Christine Miller, Illinois Institute of Technology, USA
Maria Paasivaara, IT University of Copenhagen, Denmark
Ken Riopelle, Wayne State University, USA
Yang Song, Jilin University, China
Matthäus P. Zylka, University of Bamberg, Germany

Program Committee Members

Jana Diesner, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, USA
Kai Fischbach, University of Bamberg, Germany
Dariusz Jemielniak, Kozminski University, Poland
Yoshiaki Matsuzawa, Shizuoka University, Japan
Takis Metaxas, Wellesley & Harvard, USA
Keiichi Nemoto, Fuji Xerox, Japan
Detlef Schoder, University of Cologne, Germany
Tsvi Vinig, University of Amsterdam, Netherlands